26: Favorite things

Our school’s students have been attending music class, which is right down the hall from my classroom. Music class, like band and Physical Education classes, is not designed to be a silent class, so I can hear what the students are practicing from my room. Lately, they have been singing one selection from the musical “The Sound of Music.” This particular song I have heard several times a day for about a week now. It got me thinking about my favorite things, since the lyrics of the song list the composer’s favorite things. What are my favorite things?

I like dragonflies. Dragonflies are mosquito hawks – they are voracious mosquito predators. For that reason alone, I would like them, but they also are beautiful, delicate, elegant, colorful and acrobatic.

I also like praying mantis insects. The female praying mantis generally eats her mate after they do their business, which I think is a very tidy way to finish off your mate, without the hassle and expense of divorce. Besides, their praying pose gives them at least the appearance of piety, which is endearing in a creature that “offs” her husband as soon as he has finished his usefulness. And, they have lovely wings which most people don’t see, since they tuck away out of sight when the mantis is praying/preying for insects (or husbands).

I like books. Books are endless sources of entertainment, learning, and fillers of spare time. The variety is literally endless, and there is always a number of them that are on my “must read” list, of all sorts and kinds, from all sorts and kinds of authors.

I like chocolate. Actually, love might be a better word choice. Scientists have finally found that chocolate produces endorphins, which are those “feel good” chemicals in the brain that explain why for centuries men have arrived at the doorstep of their lady friends hopefully bearing gifts of the sinfully decadent, luscious treat. They know it puts the ladies into a very good mood, from which the male is hoping to benefit. Good thing she is not usually praying when he arrives.

I like fabrics. I like them in rugs, in sweaters, in clothing, in draperies, in fabric still on the bolt, just waiting for me to create something with it. Silk, mohair, wool, cotton, chiffon, crepe, blends, denim, rayon challis, satin, corduroy, there are almost as many different kinds of fabric as there are different kinds of books! What an orgy of delight!

Speaking of orgy – I like my husband, previous comments about the male species notwithstanding. I found one of those true rarities: a masculine man who has few gender issues. He cooks, cleans, does laundry, shops, communicates, and generally is a human person. Unlike most other specimens of his species.

I like seeing the results of other people’s creativity. Paintings, sculpture, jewelry, fabric, stained glass, creamics, things in museums, things offered for sale. Endlessly fascinating what ideas people come up with!

I like traveling to new places to see new things, new people, new cultures, new food, new whatever there is to see! It is best when my husband is there to enjoy all the new things with me.

And I like the warm, sleepy smell of a napping kitty. Might explain why I have four of them. Actually, now that I think about it, my warm, sleepy husband smells really good, too! And baking bread smells divine, and so does coffee percolating in the coffemaker, and bacon sizzling in the pan, especially if there are sweet buttermilk pancakes and honey syrup to go along with the bacon.

AAAHHHHHHhhhhhh. Life is GOOD!

Leave a Reply

