55: Paper or computer?

My mom bought a Kindle. She is a constant reader, like I am. She loves this new gadget. Because she loves it, she determined that it would make a nice solution to the problem of what to give me, her daughter, for Christmas. There is only one small, teensy-eeensy-weensy problem. I don’t like reading gadgets. I don’t even like having to read things on my big desktop computer screen, much less that eensy-teensy-weensy little bitty Kindle screen. I love you, mom, but I would hate that thing.

She knows that I have a big fat stack of books in my “must read” stack, and that it gets bigger faster than I can read and remove selections from it. So many good books, so little time!!! So, for her, the solution is to read chunks of books whenever it is convenient: waiting in line, at the doctor’s office, riding as a passenger in cars or planes, etc., etc., etc. Well, I am so glad that works for her. She is not ADD. I most certainly AM adult Attention Deficit Disorder (which explains my son).

Being ADD means that I am highly distractable, but conversely, that I can hyper-focus, too. In order to read, I need a space of time and a quiet (relatively) place, preferably with a nice fireplace, a warm, purring lap kitty, a cup of hot chocolate and a snack. I cannot read while waiting for something else, unless it is an article that takes only a few minutes, or I get so absorbed I don’t hear the nurse call my name and I “wake up” from reading, after an hour or two, and go ask the receptionist what’s up, to be informed that they thought I went home, and gave my time to another patient – Would you like to reschedule for next week, dear? Not kidding. NOT happening again. NO books to the doctor’s office.

Reading in the car, boat, train or airplane is also problematic for me. I get motion sickness when I read in a moving vehicle. I have tried it, hoping that, maybe, please God, this time I won’t get sick, and I can actually finish the last three chapters of this book…..no dice. I spend the rest of the trip slightly green. NO books on a trip – the moving portion of it, anyway. I can read three to four books in a day sitting/lying in the pool-side lounge chair, though. As long as my patient husband can stand my inactivity. To him, reading a book is sort’ve like wasting time. You know, the way I consider watching a sporting event on TV. Wasting time.

The last reason why a Kindle does not work for me is I absolutely LOVE the feel of the book’s paper in my hands. The freedom to flip back a few pages and read the love scene again, or the part where the criminal cuts her head off and sautes her brains for dinner – you know, the interesting parts. I am also one of those people who wants the CHEAP phone that just makes phone calls, and does not even have a camera in it – because I HAVE a camera, thank you very much, I don’t want another one in my telephone! So, I have never become comfortable with those electronic, multi-purpose thingies, and I am not about to start with a Kindle. Reading is sacred – from a paper book!

Leave a Reply

