207: Being sick sucketh mightily

I am sure that those viruses and bacteria are just doing the best that they can to survive, just like me. However……

This past weekend, my husband and I were stuck indoors (mostly) by rainy, cold, blowing weather. So, we watched movies. One was called Contagion, and was about Gwenyth Paltrow contracting a lethally mixed bat-pig virus in the Orient, which she/they shared all over the globe as she flew home to the US. By the time they figured out a vaccine for it, it had killed nearly a billion people. Then I got sick, too. Made for REALLY bad dreams.

Plus, I have now missed one and a half days of school. It’s not two days because I went to school on Monday, even though I was already wondering if I was gonna make it when I left home. I didn’t. Today, day three of my personal contagion, I am finally able to sit up for an hour of so without getting dizzy and nauseous again. It looks like I might actually make to to work tomorrow. God willing and the creek don’t rise (literally) from all this rain we’ve been having. I also kept down some soup today. Real progress, except on my piling-ever-higher stack of papers to be graded………..

2 thoughts on “207: Being sick sucketh mightily

  1. Dianne, I hope you get to feeling better real soon (btw I love your title). “God willing and the creek don’t rise” sounds like something my husband’s family says. Get well soon, Terri

  2. Yep. I am Southern. I heard that one a lot growing up. The sucketh mightily is a bastardization of Scriptural lingo- I am a preacher’s kid, too. So is my husband!

Leave a Reply

