214: wordy durds

I struggle with dirty words. Not so much hearing them, my problem is saying them. I am not shocked by hearing them, though I do chide my students when they use one (since nobody is allowed to use a dirty work in school, ya know). My problem is in not using them myself. *gasp* I know that you are shocked at this confession.

I don’t mean the ones that slip out when you smash your finger with the hammer, either. Those are marginally understandable, even if still not nice words to say. I also don’t mean the ones that come out when you get monumentally frightened (like nearly getting run off the road) or hugemongously angry and furious (like nearly getting run off the road). My problem is using them casually, even when I am not mad. Why do I do this?

Like biting my fingernails, this is not a habit I am proud of, and I’d rather not be doing it. I want to stop doing both. I am going to stop doing both. I will stop doing both. I HAVE STOPPED DOING BOTH. There. That should help.

Leave a Reply

