225. Well….SPIT!

It is Monday – all day. On the way to work this morning, I was involved in an automobile accident. My four carpoolers and I. The lady who was sitting closest to the back tire on the passenger side, where the impact occurred, knocked out that window using her HEAD (not that she intended that to happen), and was quite understandably upset, shook up thoroughly and in shock. She was transported to the hospital and checked out, and praise God she’s OK. She does not even have to spend the night for observation.

That is the important thing – that none of us five, or the four people in the other car, were injured. The fairly minor damage to the vehicles can be dealt with later, and it is totally not important compared with the people.

The rest of it can handled later. It does not help my peace of mind to know that in another completely unrelated accident where the other driver was clearly at fault, the judge has already ruled that the accident was my husband’s fault, probably because of some baksheesh under the table. This accident will be much harder to call, which means they will probably blame me, even though I don’t believe I was at fault. I stopped at the intersection and looked. There was no car coming. For the car to have hit me just as I had almost cleared the three-lane roadway, when he was not visible when I pulled out, means he had to have been flying. This would be borne out by the fact that my little car was slewed sideways in the driveway we almost made it into. There were three lanes available, and the car that hit us made no effort to swerve around us, even though he had room. I think he was blinded by the sun in his eyes, and that he never saw us until he hit us. He did not hit the brakes, nor did he warn us with the horn – just WHAM!

At any rate, Morocco police collect the driver’s licenses of both drivers, which means now that my husband will have to drive us carpoolers to work from now until they return the license – if they do. Sometimes they just never get around to doing that. Like I said….. it’s Monday.

Leave a Reply

