330: Oh, My Holy God

This morning, I accessed my Facebook account before I went to my normal morning duty post, because I wanted to check on my husband, who is still in Morocco, tidying up details left over from our three-year life there. Because of the five-hour time difference, he has usually already posted a message for me by the time I arrive at work to start the day with whatever he needs me to do, or to update me on his progress (or lack thereof). So, when my Facebook page opens, there on my friend newsfeed, is this picture.

1185365_630924686941040_1888320462_n

My friend is an animal lover, too, but she loves dogs and cats equally well – I am partial to kitties (I tolerate dogs compassionately, but I don’t love them). This picture absolutely wrung my heart out to dry. I burst into tears at this image, similar to my reaction when I see those awful, horrifying, gut-wrenching photographs of the piles of broken humans taken after the Holocaust death camps were liberated. I sobbed.

We as humans will have this to answer for, too, on that day when a holy God brings us one-by-one to the throne of judgement. I know I cannot save them all. I know that. I understand why animal shelters, staffed with people who care for and love animals as much as, or even more, than I do have to do what they have to do. There HAS to be a better way. And people, these broken, wonderful, beautiful, loving creatures are “”just”” cats.

I know that on this planet we live on, right now, this very day, somewhere, there is a pile of broken children and adults that looks just like this neat and tidy pile of euthanized kitty people. I call my babies “”fur children,”” and “”kitty people,”” because they ARE. Anyone who has shared their life with a dog, cat, bird, etc. KNOWS that there is a tiny, thinking, responding, loving entity inside that little furry or feathered body. WE are responsible for this Holocaust of life-snuffing that still is going on, across nations (and across species). Life is life, and all of it is infinitely precious. God help us.

2 thoughts on “330: Oh, My Holy God

  1. This is exactly why we are volunteering with Spay Panama, so that this does not have to occur. We just moved into our rental house in Pedasi that came with a somewhat feral black cat (Now named Midnight) that sleeps on the cushions of the back patio furniture. We bought cat food at PriceSmart and have begun feeding the cat, as we want her to stick around to keep most of the “creatures” from the cow pasture and swamp behind our back fence at bay. She now tolerates us coming into the patio, without running off, to put food in her bowl. In fact yesterday we left the back screen door open and she came in the house, peeked around the opening from the hallway into the living area, looked around and walked back outside.
    At the end of this week we will pick up our rescue dog, medium sized female, black with a white chest stripe and spayed. We already met her and named her Bella. She is being cared for by a wonderful couple we met at the Spay Clinic in Las Tablas a couple of weeks ago that we volunteered at(Over 350 dogs and cats spayed or neutered in 2 days). She has 15 rescue dogs and puppies, Bella was 2nd from the bottom on the pecking order, but so sweet and exactly what we wanted. Could not take her right away as we were not yet in our rental house.
    We have already seen several “street dogs and cats” around our neighborhood in the pueblo that we want to try to capture for the next spay clinic here in Pedasi or Las Tablas.

    • Good for you! I rescued and neutered eleven while I lived in Morocco, found homes for most and brought three with me when I moved country. It was so hard seeing that pathetic pile of beautiful fur people. I went home and gave my babies extra cuddles, grieving for the ones I could not save. It is so sad.

Leave a Reply

