571: Maybe it IS you…

images

There is a huge culture now of “accept me as I am.” It is the “be yourself, and don’t change who you are for anyone or anything.” Yeah, well….I get that idea, but I see the problems this healthy self-acceptance beginning eventually leads to – and it isn’t pretty.

See, in the old days, people celebrated bettering themselves, and overcoming character flaws, not congratulating themselves on refusing to change for any reason whatsoever (deserving or not). Literature abounds with heros who have to overcome their flaws to be successful. Those are character flaws. People have them. These character flaws need, and deserve to be, overcome, conquered, mastered, vanquished. For the good of the individual, and for the good of us all.

Sometimes, the problem really, truthfully IS YOU. And it may be genuinely you, but it is a part of you that genuinely needs to be changed, repaired, fixed. And, sometimes, it’s me. I’ve been working on me for several decades now, and there are still some things I have not yet mastered that need to be fixed.

If I can recognize that I can be a better human, so can everyone else, because I assure you, there isn’t anyone breathing who could not use a little self-improvement.

6 thoughts on “571: Maybe it IS you…

  1. Yes, totally agree. Our journey in this lifetime is to evolve our souls, and if a person has no interest in healing, repair, rising….well, we can accept that, but not have them in our life. We have to keep rising. It’s their job to catch up. Or not.

  2. How very dare you! I am practically perfect in every way! hahaha
    Well said. Even the best of us have creases that need ironing out.

Leave a Reply

