591: Merry Go Round

images

There is a song I first heard in a Harry Chapin concert that says “all my life’s a circle, sunrise to sundown” and that is so accurate.

I am on life’s merry go round, listening to the manic music as the cylinder turns to the hurdy-gurdy tune. I watch the blur as what I suspect is the “real life” continues beyond the passing swirl as the ride (that I am somehow on) flashes past what I can clearly see (even if I see it in glimpses) is a slower, more sedate, more relaxed pace. As I ride my pony (up in the morning, highs and lows during the day and down at night), I see others who are also on this ride (my fellow inmates) on their fantastical mounts (each at once more beautiful and macabre than the last) bobbing up and down as I am, on the waves of the un-soothing music.

When did I buy my ticket for this ride? Was that when I was born, or did I choose it somewhere along the way?

When did I stand in line to get on this ride – was that my long years of schooling? Was that when I accepted my first paying job? Was it when I married?

How did I end up here?

More importantly, those I can glimpse who are clearly not on this merry go round, are they more content with their experience, as it appears that they are?

And most important of all – if I choose to go the other way (scary thought, that, as this manic ride is all I’ve ever known) – how do I get OFF this ride?

Leave a Reply

